National Poetry Day Countdown – My Top 3

30 Sep

As it’s National Poetry Day on Thursday I thought I’d countdown my three personal favourites from my back catalogue.

Number 2: The Back Of My Old Truck

Late on that summer night.
We were leaving Nashville for the Vegas lights.
When my old truck packed up.
You laughed and said, that’s just our luck.

While we waited I drifted off too sleep.
As you softly sung a lullaby next to me.
You whispered “Rest, baby, while we wait”.
And held me in a sweet embrace.

Somewhere at the back of my mind.
You’re dancing with me for the very first time.
You’re little dress dropping to the floor.
Whispering, baby, that you want me more.

I was high on this pretty sight.
Running all the red lights.
There ain’t nobody else around at this time of night.
You were calling me baby.
Driving me crazy.
Ain’t no way in hell even god could’ve saved me.
And you gave up, you gave in.
There was no way you were never ever not gonna let me in.
That was that, I was in luck.
When you said “I do” in the back of my old truck.

Early on that winter dawn.
I could feel, girl, I could’ve sworn.
Somehow I just knew it.
You laughed and said I’m talking sh…

Then the joking turned to joy.
I sorta hoped it was a boy.
To kick the football around with me.
I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

Nine months flew by so fast.
You were standing on the bathroom mat.
When happened.
It finally happened.

And I was high on this perfect sight.
Running all the red lights.
Thanking god there’s nobody around at this time of night.
I was praying for our baby.
Going a little crazy.
You were screaming at sky “Lord please just save me”.
You never gave up, never gave in.
You pushed and pushed until I held her safely in my hands.
That was that, we were in luck.
When we became a family in the back of my old truck.

Summer time in ’98.
You grabbed that football by the front gate.
You said “daddy come and play”.
Hell, I didn’t hesitate.

When you made the high school team.
It was the happiest you’ve ever been.
You said “Though I’m just a reserve”.
It was the damn least that you deserve.

And I was high on this perfect sight.
Stopping at the red lights.
This place will still be busy until later on tonight.
I was looking at our baby.
Growing up – lord save me!
Dressed in that football shirt that my daddy gave me.
She never gave up, never gave in.
You worked and worked until the coach said “Alright, you’re in”.
That was that, it weren’t no luck.
I was a proud father leaning on the hood of my old truck.

Leave a comment