I Do

27 May

I asked you if you wanna get a drink tonight.

Maybe take a walk under the Broadway lights.

You said “I do”. You said “I do”.

I said do you want to grab a bite to eat.

You can jump in to my Cadillac’s shotgun seat.

You said “I do. I really do”.

I polished up my buckle, dusted off my boots.

Thinking about how good my life would be with you.

If you said “I do”. I’ll say it too.

 

And we’re like, “hell yes”, what a perfect night.

Dancing with each other under the moon light.

Hell yes, we’re gonna make it through.

‘Cause you’re Juliet and I’m like Romeo with you.

And when you asked me if I love you I said.

I do.

 

Baby do you remember that cowgirl hat.

We found abandoned that day at the laundromat?

You said “Darling you know I do”.

You wore it on that night that you said to me.

You’d been offered a job down in Mississippi

Girl I knew you had to go.

I felt my heart slow.

Days turned to months since I next saw you.

Thinking I don’t think Skype will get me through.

But it’ll have to do.

 

And I’m like “hell yes” what a god damn fight.

I’ll drive down to see you if it takes all night.

Hell yes, I’m gonna make it to you.

Because Juliet’s just Juliet without her Romeo.

And when I tell you that I love you, you’ll say.

I do too.

 

When I walked through the front door of your little flat.

I tipped you that laundromat cowgirl hat.

You laughed and cried and said “Hey, gimme that.”

And I said “wait”…

 

I took you by the hand and got down on one knee.

And asked you if you want to spend you life with me.

You said “I do. I really do”.

 

And we’re like “hell yes” what a perfect life.

Dancing with each other under the moon light.

Hell yes we finally made it through.

‘Cause you’re Juliet and I’m like Romeo with you.

And when you asked me if I love you I said.

I do.

 

© 2014 Nick Burgin

Leave a comment