Here’s to you, kid…

23 Nov

Another change of season, another changing tide.

A silent conversation with the shadow by my side.

 

Wandering forever on this never ending road.

Wondering if I’ll ever get to shed this heavy load.

 

Speak now, don’t be shy, honey we both know that sparks fly.

When I tell you that I love you, and you tell me that you’ll try.

 

Tearing down the last of my worn out defences.

Waiting, always waiting, for you to come to your senses.

 

Because loneliness likes company, or so the saying goes.

Along the straight and narrow, all twisted now, I know.

 

Coagulating tear drops on my broken, bleeding guitar.

Drowning in the river, I’m surprised I got this far.

 

Two empty bottles of wine are lying side by side.

My bed unmade and messy, a metaphor I can’t hide.

 

The moon is shining brightly, it’s time to howl into the wind.

Time to wade into the water and wash away my sins.

 

Like a moth drawn in, I’m dancing, with a burning flame.

A existence just full of nothing, but effervescent pain.

 

A life with you I’m sure, is just wishful thinking.

So I spend night after night just alone and drinking.

 

I’ll wait in vein forever, until I draw my last, tired breath.

When angles cocoon me in their wings, and ease me in to death.

 

So here’s to you, kid, thank you – it’s been fun but off I go.

Along straight and narrow, all…well, you know…

Leave a comment